The age of the gizmo gadget!

As a 23 year old, life up until now has involved (amongst other things) school, the internet, sixth form, social media, university, and my mobile phone.

I am of that generation where any new gadget that is a must have, I decide I need. End of.

I have spent countless hours sat in front of my computer searching the internet for clothes or the latest gossip, chatting to friends on Twitter, Facebook or, back in the day, MySpace and relied on my mobile phone to get me through the day because – who can live without their phone?! Sad I know.

But isn’t it all too much?

The other day I sat having a drink with family and friends only to look up from my own phone to realise that everyone sat before me was staring at their screens, completely immersed – we might as well have been at opposite ends of the country texting one another, we would have had more interaction than the amount going on when sitting in the same room!

Now I’m not saying that we should all give up our devices whenever we decide to meet for a coffee – I can’t see Starbucks installing an airport security system to ensure no one texts in store any time soon! And lord help anyone who tries to take my i phone or i pad away from me – they’ll have one hell of a fight on their hands!

But…..

Come on people! I’m right here so talk to me!

Be honest, who else finds themselves sat outside on a warm summers evening, enjoying a glass of wine in the sunshine, when you think to yourself “I must tweet about this!”?

Crazy!

It’s a fact – we are all becoming more and more reliant on everything digital and as much as I hate to say it – I love it!

But here’s the thing, let’s not let our gizmo gadgets take over our lives completely people! When you’re out being social that doesn’t mean Facebook! And if someone’s in the same room as you, you don’t need to text them!

So next time you’re out for coffee – put the phone down.

Thanks for reading, have a great week x

One thought on “The age of the gizmo gadget!

Leave a comment